The Story of St. Mark's
The congregation began meeting as St. John's Episcopal Church in the 1910's. Ground was broken for the church building in 1922, making it one of the oldest in Colquitt County.
In July of 2012, nearly a century after its birth, the parish decided to disaffiliate from the Episcopal Church over doctrinal differences. We affiliated instead with the Anglican Church in North America, a new province which remains in fellowship with the majority of the Anglican Communion around the world.
With this change in affiliation came a change in name. The congregation became St. Mark's Anglican Church, meeting temporarily in the chapel of Trinity Baptist Church. In 2013, St. Mark's was able to buy back its historic church building, and the congregation returned in Advent of that year.
Since then, St. Mark's has worked to add to its rich history a fresh sense of purpose. We believe we are called to be a faithful church family centered around the Word of God and the Sacraments, and we aim to share God's love and grace with others through hospitality and personal relationships.